Create report for existing metric sets

I’m new to making reports and can’t figure out how to manage this, but it seems like it should be possible:

I have a dashboard that can be filtered by a specific dimension. When users click the report button, we want them to be able to see all the metric sets on the dashboard for both options in the filter without having to run the report twice or create 3 copies of all our metric sets.

However, when I try to add that dimension as a group in the report and group metric sets by it, it will not break them out by the dimension. It seems that you have to recreate metric sets in the report? I’m not sure if that is even possible for me with all these metric sets (it doesn’t seem to let you edit slicers or add formulas when opening the data analysis panel of a dragged-on measure) but in any case it would be nice to not recreate something that already exists.

All the help documentation I found didn’t address using metric sets that exist already so any direction would be appreciated!

Hi Lindsey,

It shouldn’t matter whether you’re using existing metric sets or not, except that it sounds like you are probably filtering the data by a dimension added to Slicers. Although that usually makes perfect sense, metric sets used directly in a report retrieve all their data at once while typically grouped by one of the dimensions on Rows, and I don’t think there is an option to “group” by a slicer, which would really mean filtering by retrieving the data X number of times for X number of different slicer filter values. If you are able to move this dimension from Slicers to Rows, you would still be able to filter by it on your dashboards but then can also set up linking with it by clicking the link icon on the report’s grouping hierarchy/dimension: https://www.dundas.com/support/learning/documentation/create-view-content/designing-an-inventory-report#linking